CricBuzz.Live | Live Match Streaming Live Cricket Score Ball By Ball Big Bash (BBL)

Live Cricket stream CricBuzz Updates & CricBuzz Live Score ball by ball ScoreCard Online

We weren’t protesting, only wanted to play the Super Over: Rayudu CricBuzz Live

We weren’t protesting, only wanted to play the Super Over: Rayudu CricBuzz Live

ZONAL T20 LEAGUE, 2018

Gokul Gopal in Visakhapatnam • Last updated on Thu, 11 Jan, 2018, 03:44 PM
Ambati Rayudu was unhappy with the umpires' decision to change their call at the end of the first innings.Ambati Rayudu was unhappy with the umpires’ decision to change their call at the end of the first innings. © BCCI

A thrilling high-scoring encounter between Karnataka and Hyderabad was marred by controversy over the addition of two runs to the former’s total at the end of the innings. During the second over of the game, Mehdi Hasan, fielding at deep mid-wicket, touched the ropes with his foot while fielding the ball. While the onfield umpires did not check with the third umpire, replays later revealed that the fielder had clearly stepped on the boundary. The two runs were only added to the total before the start of the second innings, which didn’t go down well with Hyderabad skipper Ambati Rayudu.

After the end of 20 overs, with Hyderabad falling two short of their opposition’s total – the same number of runs which were added to Karnataka’s total – Rayudu and Co. did not leave the field and remained in the middle wanting “to start the Super Over” despite the official result signalling a win for Karnataka. They stood their ground for a lengthy amount of time, which delayed the start of the second game and eventually caused a curtailed 13-over encounter between Andhra and Kerala.

“There was some confusion in the middle at the start of our innings. What I went and told the umpire was ‘sir you cannot change the score, we are batting for 204 as our target’. That is exactly what I told him and he said ‘we’ll see it at the end, let the match start. The match was stopped for nine minutes, before the second innings. They had no business to stop the match once the target was declared. Then, what we said was we were playing for 204, and that was my exact words,” a disappointed Rayudu said after the game.

“At the end, we went and asked to start the Super Over. That is exactly our point of contention. We never even thought of stopping the second match, that has got nothing to do with us. We were insisting that our match was not complete, we still have to play the Super Over. That is exactly why we went to the middle, we were actually going to warm up then.

“I’m sure of the rules. If he had changed immediately then it would have been perfect. Even if somebody gets out and you come inside and see that it’s not out, you don’t call the person back. Even in case of a no-ball not correctly called, you cannot call somebody back or add the scores. I don’t know what has happened but we were playing for 204. That is exactly what I wanted to tell and we were waiting for the Super Over which never happened,” he added.

Meanwhile, according to Karnataka’s version of the events, they had notified the third umpire of the fielding faux pas immediately after the replays were shown on the television. The third umpire, in turn, had relayed the information to the onfield umpires and it was decided that two runs would be added to Karnataka’s total. However, it did not happen immediately after the incident due to some miscommunication between the onfield umpires and the scorers, and was only added before the start of the second innings. There was a delay then too as Karnataka only decided to proceed with their bowling after the addition of the runs.

This is not the first time in cricket that extra runs have been added on to the scorecard after the completion of the innings. During the 1987 World Cup, what appeared like a six from Dean Jones was signalled four by umpire Dickie Bird. During the innings-break, the Australia team management let their disagreement known to the umpires. The officials later approached India captain Kapil Dev who agreed to readjust the scorecard, but it eventually cost India the game as they lost by a solitary run.

 

Updated: January 12, 2018 — 8:02 am
CricBuzz.Live © 2016