CricBuzz.Live | Live Match Streaming Live Cricket Score Ball By Ball Big Bash (BBL)

Live Cricket stream CricBuzz Updates & CricBuzz Live Score ball by ball ScoreCard Online

BCCI goes back to white SG ball for T20s, players unhappy


Arani Basu • Last updated on Thu, 11 Jan, 2018, 09:11 AM
The current variety of the SG ball doesn't seem to have pleased the seasoned players in the tournament.

The current variety of the SG ball doesn’t seem to have pleased the seasoned players in the tournament. © Cricbuzz

The Indian cricket board (BCCI) has gone back to white SG balls for the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 domestic tournament.

The board had switched from Kookaburra Regular to Kookaburra Turf ball in the limited-overs tournaments — which is used in international and IPL matches — in December 2015 so that the domestic players could get a feel of what was being used at the highest level.

However, the current variety of the SG ball doesn’t seem to have pleased the seasoned players in the tournament.

“I don’t know why they are using this ball. This doesn’t feel right at all,” an India cricketer told TOI on Wednesday. “If the ODIs and T20Is at home are played with the Kookaburra Turf balls, it makes little sense to play with these balls in domestic T20,” the player added. According to the players, this ball is hard like marbles and is not travelling off the bat as well as the Turf balls do.

“The seam is a lot more pronounced. The balls is taking a lot more turn and if the morning pitch has some assistance, it moves a lot more than usual,” explained the player.

“This is a newly upgraded variety of the SG white ball. It is being tested for the first time in this tournament,” a BCCI official told TOI. The quality of the SG Test ball, which used in home Tests and first-class matches, has also come under scrutiny over the last three years.

Board ditches zone format in knockouts : The board also decided to do away with having teams from five zones for the knockout stages of the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament. The state associations were informed only after the zonal league stage got underway that two teams from each zone will qualify for the super league unlike last year when a combined team each from five zones played. The participating teams’ officials here at the Feroze Shah Kotla got clarity on the situation on Wednesday afternoon, three days after the tournament started. The knockouts will be held in Kolkata from January 21.



CBQueue.push(function(){ (function(d, s, id) { var js, fjs = d.getElementsByTagName(s)[0]; if (d.getElementById(id)) return; js = d.createElement(s); = id; js.async = true; js.defer = true; js.src = “”; fjs.parentNode.insertBefore(js, fjs); }(document, ‘script’, ‘facebook-jssdk’));

Updated: January 11, 2018 — 5:37 am
CricBuzz.Live © 2016